Tuesday, February 27, 2007

SOSA AGM and Awards Banquet

A well attended AGM took place this past weekend with a room full of members to hear reports from the Board about last years activities and plans for the future.

Mike Sury busy at the registration table

Dave talking and John listening :)

Dave still talking!

After the meeting many toured the Museum with Mike Sury's father as the tour guide

The cocktail hour before Dinner

70 people attended the awards banquet and were treated to a wonderful meal. Following dinner, certificates and awards were presented for the 2006 flying year.
Solo Certificate Presentations:

Mark Karamanis - Dennis Dyke - Spencer Hunt - Ping Wu

License Presentations:

Ping Wu

Instructor Ratings:

Andrew Corrigan - Rafael Bravo - Eric Gillespie

Awards Presentations:

Ken Larmour Award - significant contribution by a first year member - Neil Wilson

Chris accepting on Neil's behalf

All-round Junior Trophy - best non-badge pilot use of Junior - Keith Hartley -162 km Triangle - SOSA- Platsville-Tillsonburg.

Kyle and Jay accepting on Keith's behalf

The Doug Winger 500 Trophy - fastest 500 km triangle flown from SOSA - Joerg Stieber - 501.7 km Triangle @90 km/hr - SOSA- Priceville- St Thomas - Hagersville

The SOSA Flight Achievement Award - for a significant flight by a SOSA member - Wilfred Krueger - 1194 km @ 138 km/hr - Ely Nevada

Honorable Mention: Jerzy Szemplinski - 1012 km @114 km/hr - Mifflin, PA

The Royal Crown Cola Trophy - best flight by a silver pilot - Jay Allardyce - 432 km @80 km/hr

Dr. Wolf Dietrich Leers Award - SOSA Instructor of the year - Scott McMaster

Douglas C. Winger Trophy - significant contribution by a Tow Pilot - Scott McMaster

The Reinhard - for a significant contribution to the non-flying operation at SOSA - Jean-Marc Henry